A flat second-half performance from the Binos saw Elgin earn a deserved win on matchday two of the Betfred Cup at Borough Briggs despite them finishing with 10 men.

Blair Currie, Ross McGeachie and Dylan Mackin were sidelined for our first away match since we lost 3-1 to the same opponents in early March. Declan Byrne and Scott Roberts came into the starting XI, with new signing Lewis Magee among the subs.

There wasn’t much between the teams in a first half of few clear-cut opportunities but we came close when a great run from Andy Ryan saw him round keeper Thomas McHale – his shot from a tricky angle found the side netting.

We came close again after the break when Kyle Banner’s header rebounded from the bar but the home side were on top for most of the second period and went ahead in 67 minutes when Kane Hester gathered a pass and drilled a low shot beyond Cammy Binnie.

Hester picked up a second yellow card a few minutes later after catching Jordan McGregor with a high boot but we failed to make the extra man count and conceded a penalty with 10 minutes left. McGregor tripped Russell Dingwall at the edge of the area and the former Ross County midfielder made no mistake from the penalty spot.

Smart Osadolor missed a good chance to add a third goal for Elgin on a disappointing afternoon for Stirling. We conclude our Betfred Cup campaign with games against Montrose and Ross County in November.

It was a day of double celebration for City boss Gavin Price, who is to be awarded an MBE for his work in the Aberfeldy community during the Coronavirus lockdown.

Elgin City: McHale, Wilson (McDonald 46), Spark, Cooper, Bronsky, Dingwall, O’Keefe (Jamieson 90), Cameron, Hester, Osadolor (Mailer 76), Sopel (MacBeath 68). Subs (not used): Kelly (GK), Peters, MacEwan, Hay, Thomson.

Goals: Hester 67, Dingwall pen 81

Stirling Albion: Binnie, Banner, Creaney (Docherty 75), McLean, McGregor, K Roberts (Thomson 62), Ryan, Wilson (Heaver 75), Byrne, Leitch, S Roberts (Moore 70). Subs (not used): Law (GK), Greenhorn, Carey, Magee.

Referee: Daniel McFarlane